Sep 18

Mali, Niger and Burkina Faso sign Sahel security pact

Reuters reports on Mali, Niger and Burkina Faso the three West African Sahel nations ruled by military juntas, who signed a security pact promising to come to the aid of each other in case of any rebellion or external aggression. The three countries are struggling to contain Islamic insurgents linked to al Qaeda and Islamic State and have also seen their relations with neighbours and international partners strained because of the coups.