Aug 24

BRICS admits six new members to the bloc

The BRICS group of nations will be getting new family members. Argentina, Ethiopia, Iran, Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates, and Egypt will join the bloc from 1 January 2024. Isabel Nakirya reports that the expansion adds economic heft to BRICS, whose current members are China, the world’s second-largest economy, as well as Brazil, Russia, India, and South Africa. It could also amplify its declared ambition to become a champion of the Global South.